RSS

Shit I’m Thankful For Day 2: The Thankening

24 Jul

So I have to think of something else I’m thankful for.  Fuck.  This is going to be a long 5 days.  What…am…I…thankful…for…AHA!  I’ve got it!

 

The second thing I’m thankful for is all the sadness, anger and depression I have ever felt in my life.  Every tear, every frown.  Every broken heart.    All of it.  Its all helped shape me into the man I am now.  I think thats a good thing.  If you’ve never known sadness you can’t truly appreciate what happiness is.  Struggle and hardship will show you who you really are.  They will test your mettle.  There have been times, a lot of times, where I felt like ‘Theres no way I can get through this’.  But you know what?  I did get through it.  And I learned from it.  It wasn’t easy or fun.  Its sure as shit not glamorous.  But its necessary for personal growth. Sadness and pain have been the catalyst for some of the most amazing art the world has ever known.  Ernest Hemingway said “Writing is easy.  All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”  I know for me personally, some of my favourite things that I’ve written have come from really hard, sad times.  And that makes me feel good.  And feeling good is good.  So Thank you pain.  Thank you sadness and despair.  You’re all ass hats but I wouldn’t be where I am without you.  Dicks.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2014 in Random

 

Leave a Reply

 
